Menu Close

Volunteer Awardees

Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Award (2022)

Five Mission to Seafarers Halifax Volunteers– Sandra Attersley, Norman Picton, Susan Picton, Colm Stockdale, and Aurora Ulloa-Parsons– received the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Award for their significant contribution to Canada, Nova Scotia, and their community. Their selfless dedication and exceptional qualities demonstrated their outstanding service.

In an investiture hosted by the Mission at its Centre on December 19, 2022, The Chair of the Board Alastair Gray and the Mission Manager Helen Glenn presented the Awardees with the Medal. The ceremony is witnessed by the families and friends of the Awardees.

The Awardees with Alastair Gray, Helen Glenn, and Bud Streeter (MtS Board Member)

ISSC Peter G. Bernard, Q. C. Volunteer Award (2021)

MtS Halifax Board Chair Sandra Attersley received the ISSC 2021 Peter G. Bernard, Q. C. Volunteer Award.

“The International Sailors’ Society Canada’s Board of Directors established the “Peter G. Bernard Volunteer Recognition Award” in 2015 to recognize Peter’s contribution to the Society as a member of the ISSC Board from 1977 to 2014 (37 years). This annual award seeks to recognize others that generously contribute their time to support the welfare of seafarers.” (

Volunteers who have shown an exemplary commitment to improving the welfare of seafarers in a Canadian port are eligible for nomination to this Award.

Captain Anthony McGuinness, Guest of Honour, presenting to MtS Halifax volunteer, Sandra Attersley, the ISSC 2021 Peter G. Bernard, Q. C. Volunteer Award during the Volunteer Appreciation dinner (2021)